Park Board

Park Board Members

Brad Welle – President
Jared English – Vice President
Terry Hill – Secretary
Don Caslavka
Norm Combs
Nathan Hays
Bryan Nolte
Charles Harris
Becky Gray
Shannon Davies – Director of Parks and Recreation
Bob Headley – Board of Aldermen Liaison


The Park Board is responsible for the long-term planning of the Grain Valley Park System, as well as the maintenance of and improvements to existing park facilities.


Board members must be Grain Valley residents for at least one year prior to their appointment.

Appointment Process

The Board consists of nine members and one Board of Alderman Liaison who are appointed by the mayor via resolution. Member’s terms of office are staggered resulting in three replacements/re-appointments prior to June 1 of each year. The Mayor also re-appoints current members when their term has expired, via resolution.


Meetings are held the 3rd Tuesday of every month at 7:00pm at the Grain Valley Community Center, and meetings are open to the public. Any deviation from the regularly scheduled meeting date, time and/or location will be displayed on this webpage.

If you are interested in serving on the Park Board, please complete a Committee/Board Application. For more information, please contact Shannon Davies at (816) 847-6230.

Next Park Board Meeting:
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Grain Valley Community Center